opsasebo.blogg.se

Christian worship leaders
Christian worship leaders











christian worship leaders

What I didn’t realize was that as my faith grew deeper, the image of the ideal worship leader as white and male was being ingrained deeper along with it.Īs I started answering the call by God to be a worship leader as a vocation, I slowly started to notice just how much this worship music world was not inclusive of people like me. Back then, I just wanted to purely worship, no matter what kind of song or worship leadership I received. And I wasn’t thinking about the fact that all the worship leaders I could name were white. I didn’t really notice that women mostly sang the slow songs and many only appeared on stage with their husbands. I wasn’t thinking about the fact that the songs were in musical keys that were well-suited for the guys but too high for the girls. I could not wait to share the amazing love of God, Jesus, and Holy Spirit through my favorite medium of music.īack then, I wasn’t thinking about the fact that all my Christian music influences were mostly men. I was so excited and passionate to lead others into the ways of Jesus through music. It was such a sweet time of growing together in the fellowship and love of Jesus.Įventually, I had the honor of serving on the worship teams at some of the retreats that had helped to shape me as a follower of Christ. We were developing the rudimentary tools to become worship leaders ourselves, to be the ones to lead others to God. We sang out our prayers and favorite verses in the Bible. We devoured every new worship album that came out. With every word we sang and chord we played, our faith grew deeper. I spent hours with my friends after church learning and practicing with them, working out the harmonies and strumming patterns.

CHRISTIAN WORSHIP LEADERS HOW TO

I wanted to be free.Īs I took home a huge notebook of songs, I vowed to learn how to play the guitar and sing every song as best as I could. I longed to shed my awkward and insecure exterior self in front of God. I had stumbled upon a transformative moment in Jesus, and I realized that I too wanted to be transformed. It was like David in the Psalms - honest, heartfelt, and beautiful. As I saw them play instruments, hold their hands in the air, and sing out in a raw posture to our great God, I saw such a pure form of human activity that was anything but hidden. I witnessed their raw and heartfelt singing of songs to Jesus, and I remember wanting to know this heavenly love so wholeheartedly. It wasn’t until I went on my very first youth retreat that I found myself in a setting with older Unnis and Oppas (bigger ‘sister and brother’ role model types) who took their faith in God seriously. I had grown up in the church, but it was mainly a social club for me and my youth group bubble to fellowship in this world as second generation Korean-Americans. When I discovered music in worship, I discovered God.













Christian worship leaders